Malone University Advances To Provisional Year In NCAA Division II Membership Process

Malone University Advances To Provisional Year In NCAA Division II Membership Process

Release courtesy of the Malone University Sports Information Department

CANTON, Ohio - The Malone University athletic department received notification on Friday morning that the institution has been granted approval by the NCAA Division II Membership Committee to advance to the provisional year (third and final transition year) of the NCAA membership process.

The move to provisional status signifies the Pioneer athletic department’s continued progress towards meeting the NCAA’s expectations and keeps Malone on track to become a full-fledged NCAA Division II member by the 2013-14 academic year.  Providing all requirements are met, an institution’s transition to NCAA membership is a three-year process in which schools move through Year One Candidacy, Year Two Candidacy and Provisional Membership stages prior to becoming a full member at the beginning of the fourth year.

Malone will continue its longtime affiliation with the National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA) and will start a new era this fall as it begins competition in the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC).

“We have worked very hard to attain this milestone in the membership transition process,” commented Malone athletic director Charlie Grimes.  “I commend our staff for their hard work and positive attitudes. This has not been an easy task, but with teamwork we intend to become a model NCAA Division II member next year. I look forward to beginning our GLIAC competition this fall.”

After meeting certain criteria to advance from Year Two Candidacy to the provisional year, Malone will now be asked to continue to meet additional requirements while functioning just like a full-fledged Division II institution throughout 2012-13.  Through various communications, including site visits, the NCAA monitors transitioning institutions over a 12-month period before approving or denying advancement each July.

Seven colleges and universities in the state of Ohio – Ashland University, Central State University, University of Findlay, Lake Erie College, Ohio Dominican University, Tiffin University, and Urbana University-- are active NCAA Div. II members.  Cedarville University and Notre Dame College just completed the three-year transition process and will become full members for the 2012-13 year.  Walsh University and Ursuline College, like Malone, are on track for full membership in 2013-14.

Title IX Through Barb’s Eyes
February 11, 2013 Title IX Through Barb’s Eyes