GLIAC Institutions Selected to Host NCAA Division II National Championships

GLIAC Institutions Selected to Host NCAA Division II National Championships

Future NCAA Division II Championship Sites Release

NCAA -- The NCAA has selected more than 600 host sites for preliminary rounds and finals of predetermined championships in Divisions I, II and III to be held from 2017-18 through 2021-22. 

Wayne State along with the Detroit Sports Commission will host the 2021 NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championships and the 2022 NCAA Division II Men's Golf Championships. Both events will take place at TPC Michigan in Dearborn with the women's tournament taking place May 12-15, 2021, while the men's final is scheduled May 16-20, 2022.

Grand Valley State landed hosting duties for the 2019 NCAA Division II Women's Lacrosse Championship with help from their partners at the West Michigan Sports Commission. The championship will take place May 17-19, 2019 at the GVSU Lacrosse Stadium in Allendale, Michigan.

Ashland University, in partnership with the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission, was awarded hosting responsibilities for the 2019 NCAA Division II Men's Wrestling Championships to be hosted at the Wolstein Center in Cleveland, Ohio on March 8-9, 2019.

The outdoor track and field nationals also returns to the campus of Grand Valley State University for consecutive years in 2021 and 2022. The NCAA Division II Men's & Women's Track & Field Championships will occur May 27-29, 2021 and May 26-28, 2022 at the GVSU Track & Field Stadium.

Although Ohio Dominican University will be transitioning out of the GLIAC this summer, our friends at ODU along with the Greater Columbus Sports Commission will once again play host to the NCAA Division II Women's Basketball Elite Eight in 2019 and 2021 after successfully conducting this year's championship where Ashland captured the 2017 national title with a 37-0 record.

Another current member institution who will be exiting the league is Lake Erie College. The Storm will team up with the Greater Sports Commission and host the 2020 NCAA Division II Men's & Women's Swimming & Diving Championships at the SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio on March 11-14, 2020.

The NCAA received more than 3,000 bid submissions from NCAA member schools, conferences, sports commissions and cities vying to host predetermined rounds for 84 of the NCAA’s 90 championships. A total of 613 sites were awarded for this cycle. The respective NCAA sports committees and the divisional championships cabinets/committees reviewed the bid proposals and selected the sites.

There were 43 states selected to host at least one round of an NCAA championship, with Pennsylvania leading the way with a total of 53. Florida was awarded the second most with 51, while Indiana totaled 41, the third highest.  Buoyed with a total of six fall championships for the 2018 Division II National Championships Festival, Pittsburgh was awarded 22 preliminary rounds and finals, the most of any city.