2019 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. II All-America Teams announced

2019 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. II All-America Teams announced

2019 ABCA All-America Release

ABCA -- The 2019 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. II All-America teams have been released by the American Baseball Coaches Association, and Rawlings Sporting Goods. Eight of the student-athletes selected for All-America teams are playing in the NCAA Div. II College World Series this week in Cary, North Carolina, including Ashland's Chris Slavik. Also earning All-America Honorees from the GLIAC, were Davenport's Jacob Buchberger, and Wayne State's Hunter Brown, who was also named ABCA Midwest Regional Pitcher of the Year. 


ABCA/Rawlings All-Region First Team selections, which were announced on Wednesday, were nominated for All-America honors. In all divisions, the ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Teams will be announced on Wednesday, June 19, followed by the ABCA/Rawlings National Pitchers of the Year on Monday, June 24 and ABCA/Rawlings Players of the Year on Wednesday, June 26.

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now includes nine divisions: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and high school. ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were first recognized in 2007.

The Chair of the ABCA NCAA Div. II All-America & Coach of the Year Committee is Rudy Garbalosa of Lynn University. Also on the committee are Randy Betten (Cal Poly Pomona), Jamie Detillion (Grand Valley State University), Jim Gantt (Catawba College), Rick Giannetti (Dominican College), Matt Jones (Shippensburg University), Rob Penders (St. Edward's University) and Kyle Poock (Winona State University).

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 11,000 members represent all 50 states and 25 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 75th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 3-6, 2019 in Dallas, Texas.

About Rawlings
Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. is an innovative manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods worldwide. Founded in 1887, Rawlings is an authentic global sports brand, trusted by generations of athletes of all skill levels. Rawlings’ unparalleled quality and expert craftsmanship are the fundamental reasons why more professional athletes, national governing bodies and sports leagues choose Rawlings. Rawlings is the Official Ball Supplier and Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®, the official baseball of Minor League Baseball™ and the NCAA®, and an approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®. For more information, please visit Rawlings.com or by phone at (314) 819-2800.

SEE ALSO: ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. II All-Region Teams

2019 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. II All-America Teams
All-America First Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
RP Chris Slavik Sr. Ashland OH
All-America Second Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
P Hunter Brown Jr. Wayne State MI
All-America Third Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
3B Jacob Buchberger Jr. Davenport MI