Former GLIAC Basketball Players Taken With the First Two Picks in the NBL Canada Draft

Former GLIAC Basketball Players Taken With the First Two Picks in the NBL Canada Draft

Parts of this release courtesy of the Ashland University and the University of Findlay athletic communications departments 

Toronto -- More than 6,000 unique visitors from more than 90 different countries around the world logged on to watch the inaugural National Basketball League of Canada draft.

Click here to see the webcast of the draft

Click here for a complete list of all players drafted

"The 2011 draft was a historic evening, we are truly overwhelmed by the support we've received here at home and all over the world," said National Basketball League of Canada's President & CEO, Andre Levingston. "We'd like to congratulate the 21 players who were selected last evening, and look forward to seeing them at the training camps this fall."

The draft included three rounds, and each of the NBL Canada's seven teams selected one player per round. The first round was for free agent players, while the second and third were reserved for Canadian players only.

Each of the 21 players selected in the draft will report to their team's training camp in early October, where they will vie for a final spot on the 12-man roster. Under the league's rules, each team is required to carry at least two Canadian players on their roster at all times.

The NBL Canada will begin its inaugural season on October 29 when Moncton visits Quebec City.

The Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) had two former standouts selected with the first two draft picks. Morgan Lewis, former standout basketball player and 2009 national champion from the University of Findlay, was the National Basketball League's first ever draft pick as he was chosen first overall by the Oshawa Power. Former Ashland University forward Justin Garris was the first selection of the yet-to-be named Island franchise, and was the second overall selection.

Football Academic Teams
November 17, 2011 Football Academic Teams