WSU's Karcz and Morrow, and Ashland's Brdicka receive men's tennis top honors; All-GLIAC teams announced

WSU's Karcz and Morrow, and Ashland's Brdicka receive men's tennis top honors; All-GLIAC teams announced

Photo Album

GLIAC - The Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference announced its 2019 All-GLIAC Men's Tennis Team prior to Day 2 of the conference tournament held at the Midland Tennis Center. Wayne State's Niklas Karcz was named GLIAC Player of the Year, while the Warriors' Bryan Morrow received his third GLIAC Coach of the Year honor. Ashland's Stuart Brdicka received the GLIAC Freshman of the Year Award.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Niklas Karcz - Wayne State

Wayne State University sophomore Niklas Karcz (Bottrop, Germany) was voted GLIAC Men's Tennis Player of the Year by the league's head coaches.  He becomes the first Warrior men's tennis student-athlete to win the award since it was instituted in 1983.
Karcz helped lead WSU to an undefeated conference record (8-0), along with a 14-2 Division II regular-season record.  Karcz compiled an 8-0 mark in conference play at No. 1 singles.  Paired with first-year player Pierre Renaudie at No. 2 doubles, Karcz earned a 7-1 record during GLIAC competition and went 18-2 overall.  Additionally, Karcz was named GLIAC Player of the Week twice this season (March 26 and April 23).

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Stuart Brdicka - Ashland

Ashland University freshman Stuart Brdicka was voted the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Men's Tennis Freshman of the Year by the league's head coaches.

Brdicka was a GLIAC men's tennis player of the week once (Feb. 19), and reached a national doubles ranking of as high as No. 17 on March 27 with his partner, freshman Jordan Phelps. Brdicka and Phelps were the highest-ranked freshman only duo in the nation at the time. Brdicka helped lead Ashland to its first GLIAC Tournament appearance in its first season since reinstating the program that was last active in 1995. Brdicka was 5-3 in conference play at No. 2 singles. Paired with Phelps at No. 1 double,s he was 3-5 in the GLIAC.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Bryan Morrow - Wayne State

Bryan Morrow, who is in his 11th season at Wayne State, was named GLIAC Men's Tennis Coach of the Year for the third time (first in 2010 and most recently in 2018).  He guided the Warriors to an 8-0 conference record, which was WSU's best regular-season finish since 1981.  The Green and Gold have an 18-3 overall record and are currently ranked second in the Midwest Region with an in-region record of 12-0.  Morrow's No. 1 doubles team of seniors Griffin Mertz and Taylor Vane is ranked 26th in the nation.

A complete list of the 2019 All-GLIAC Men's Tennis teams is below:

2019 All-GLIAC Men's Tennis Teams

First Team All-Conference

Name School Yr. Hometown/Previous
Sebastien Lescoulie Grand Valley State Sr. Chamonix, France
Stew Sell Ferris State Sr. Kalamazoo, Mich.
Niklas Karcz Wayne State So. Westphalia, Germany
Nur Iswan Ferris State Sr. Makassar, Indonesia
Priyank Soni Ashland Jr. Mumbai, India
Pierre Renaudie Wayne State Jr. Sathonay-Camp, France
Pablo Munoz Baroja Ferris State Jr. San Sebastian, Spain
Kobus Sauerman Northwood Jr. Albertinia, South Africa
Joe Gilman Lake Superior State Jr. Lansing, Mich.

Second Team All-Conference

Name School Yr. Hometown
David Reinaurer Northwood Sr. Steinenbronn, Germany
Jack Geissler Grand Valley State Jr. Joliet, Ill.
Griffin Mertz Wayne State Sr. Farmington Hills, Mich.
Taylor Vane Wayne State Sr. Southampton, England
Moritz Gisy Purdue Northwest Sr. Duesseldorf, Germany
Max Rink Wayne State Fr.  Wetzlar, Germany
Stuart Brdicka Ashland Fr. Galena, Ohio
Pablo Salamanca Northwood So. Diez, Germany
Remy Johansen Davenport So. Asker, Norway

Honorable Mention Team

Name School Yr. Hometown/Previous
Stanislaw Grzeslo Ashland Sr. Krakow, Poland
Jonathan Bulmer Davenport So.  Johannesburg, South Africa
Mathis Guerre Ferris State So. Aix en Provence, France
Nick Urban Grand Valley State Sr. Lemont, Ill.
Krishan Taneja Lake Superior State Fr. London, England
Mario Neto Michigan Tech Sr. Santos, Brazil
Ben Brandherm Northwood So. Berlin, Germany
Leon Kah Purdue Northwest So. Munich, Germany
Derek Sammons Wayne State Jr.  Coldwater, Mich.