Ashland University’s Sue Ramsey honored with WBCA Carol Eckman Award

Ashland University’s Sue Ramsey honored with WBCA Carol Eckman Award

Release courtesy of Jack Watford, WBCA Director of Communications

ATLANTA – Sue Ramsey, head coach of the Ashland University Eagles, is the winner of the 2012 Carol Eckman Award, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today.

The Carol Eckman Award is presented annually to an active WBCA coach who exemplifies Eckman’s spirit, integrity and character through sportsmanship, commitment to the student-athlete, honesty, ethical behavior, courage and dedication to purpose. The award is named in honor of the late Carol Eckman, the former West Chester State College coach who is considered the “Mother of the Women’s Collegiate Basketball Championship.” Eckman organized the first women’s basketball championship at West Chester in 1969 and continued to garner recognition and support for the women’s game until her death from cancer in 1985.

“It is a pleasure to present Sue Ramsey with the Carol Eckman Award,” said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. “Your commitment to sportsmanship, honesty, ethical behavior and most importantly, your student-athletes has not gone unnoticed.” 

Ramsey has been at the helm of the Ashland women’s basketball program for 17 seasons. She boasts an overall record of 379-197 and twice led the Eagles to NCAA Division II postseason play, both of which are bests in Ashland’s women’s basketball coaching history. Under Ramsey, Ashland has recorded four 20-win seasons, including a 28-1 mark – and spotless 19-0 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference record – during 2012.

In addition to leading her teams to success on the court, Ramsey has made a habit of guiding her student-athletes to a similar outcome off the court. In 2011, Ramsey was honored by the Fellowship of Christian Athletes as the recipient of the Kay Yow Heart of a Champion award, and from 2007-2010, the Eagles were ranked among the nation’s top 20 institutions for highest cumulative grade-point average.

Ramsey was the first woman to receive a basketball scholarship at Indiana University, were she was a three-year letter winner (1974-77). Ramsey completed her playing career at Miami of Ohio (1978) where she also earned a degree in physical education. After completing her master’s degree in educational administration at Dayton in 1988, Ramsey took over the head coaching position at the university until 1995 when she arrived at Ashland.

Currently, Ramsey serves the university as the senior women’s administrator and assistant athletic director, as well as the advisor for the Student Advisory Council and head women’s basketball coach. She also serves on the WBCA board of directors as the association’s NCAA Division II legislative chair.
Ramsey will be formally recognized during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be heldat 5 p.m. MT Monday, April 2, in the Plaza Ballroom at the Sheraton Downtown Denver. This event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four® in Denver.

Now in its 26th year, the Carol Eckman Award has recognized the following individuals in women’s basketball: Joanne Boyle, University of California (2011); Kevin Cook, Gallaudet University (2010); Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame University (2009); Doug Bruno, DePaul University (2008); Theresa Grentz, University of Illinois (2007); Gail Goestenkors, Duke University (2006); Bonnie Henrickson, University of Kansas (2005); Deirdre Kane, West Chester University (2004); Marsha Sharp, Texas Tech University (2003); Barbara Stevens, Bentley College (2002); Juliene Simpson, East Stroudsburg University (2001); Kathy Delaney-Smith, Harvard University (2000); Susan Summons, Miami-Dade (Fla.) Community College (1999); Kay James, University of Southern Mississippi (1998); Amy Ruley, North Dakota State University (1997); Dr. Joann Rutherford, University of Missouri (1996); Ceal Barry, University of Colorado (1995); the late Sue Gunter, Louisiana State University (1994); C. Vivian Stringer, University of Iowa (1993); Dr. Jill Hutchison, Illinois State University (1992); Marian Washington, University of Kansas (1991); Maryalyce Jeremiah, Cal State Fullerton (1990); Linda Hill-MacDonald, University of Minnesota (1989); the late Kay Yow, North Carolina State University (1988); Jody Conradt, University of Texas (1987), and Laura Mapp, Bridgewater College (1986).

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. The WBCA is pleased to join the women's sports community in commemorating the 40th anniversary of Title IX, which was passed by Congress on June 23, 1972, and provides females with equal opportunities in athletics in the U.S. For more information on the WBCA, please visit

Football Academic Teams
November 17, 2011 Football Academic Teams