Tiffin Wins 2017 GLIAC Wrestling Championship

Tiffin Wins 2017 GLIAC Wrestling Championship

Courtesy of Tiffin Sports Information

FINDLAY, Ohio -- Tiffin University won its first ever GLIAC Championship in wrestling, defeating Findlay 21-16 in a dramatic comeback to finish the GLIAC dual season unbeaten at 3-0.

At first the match went Findlay's way. They won four of the first five weight classes, with Landon Elliott falling 5-3 at 125 and Hunter Langeloh falling in a major decision at 133 17-6. 

After 4th-ranked Trey Grine (141) pinned Josh Wimer in 3:29, TU suffered two big setbacks when 9th-ranked Michael Screptock (149) lost 6-0 to top-ranked Nick Goebel and Sam Viengmany (157) lost 5-1 to 7th ranked Joey White.

Beau Minnick started to reverse the momentum with a big 3-1 overtime win at 165. Findlay briefly regained the momentum and took a 16-9 lead with three matches left when Chase Boyd (174) fell to 5th ranked Bradley Metz 5-4 in overtime.

TU then turned the tide for good when Jared Chambers (184) beat Charles Wells 10-4. Kevin Christman (197), ranked 8th in the nation, won his match 7-0 to pull TU to within 16-15 heading to the 285 pound weight class.

Garrett Gray, ranked 6th nationally but leading Division II in falls, then gave TU the victory with a pin of Luke Fleming in 3:36. 

In winning the GLIAC title, the 11th ranked Dragons upset both the 9th ranked Ashland Eagles and the 10th ranked Oilers. They had previously beaten 12th ranked Lake Erie.


#11 Tiffin 21, #10 Findlay 16
125 – Schuyler Phillips (UF) dec. Landon Elliott (TU) 5-3
133 – Devin Rogers (UF) maj. dec. Hunter Langeloh (TU) 17-6
141 – #4 Trey Grine (TU) fall Josh Wimer (UF) 3:29
149 – #1 Nick Goebel (UF) dec. #9 Michael Screptock (TU) 6-0
157 - #7 Joey White (UF) dec. Sam Viengmany (TU) 5-1
165 – Beau Minnick (TU) dec. Alonzo Turner (UF) 3-1 (OT)
174 – #5 Bradley Metz (UF) dec. Chase Boyd (TU) 5-4 (OT) 
184 – Jared Chambers (TU) dec. Charles Wells (UF) 10-4
197 – #8 Kevin Christman (TU) dec. Chancellor Sonnenberg (UF) 7-0
285 – #6 Garrett Gray (TU) fall Luke Fleming (UF) 3:36