Hillsdale's Oren Named All-Region Athlete of the Year, 39 Achieve USTFCCCA All-Region Status

Hillsdale's Oren Named All-Region Athlete of the Year, 39 Achieve USTFCCCA All-Region Status

NEW ORLEANS – All-Region honorees for NCAA Division II Cross Country were recognized Wednesday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) following the weekend's NCAA regional championships meets. The Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference put 39 runners (20 men, 19 women) on the achievement list.

Hillsdale's Emily Oren was recognized as Midwest Region Athlete of the Year after winning the regional meet.  Four Grand Valley runners beat Oren two weeks ago, but they were no match for her on Saturday. Oren beat Bellarmine's Emily Frith by eight seconds; the champ is a junior from Holland, Mich.

Grand Valley State's Jerry Baltes, in his 16th year, claimed both men's and women's coach of the year honors. Baltes led the Laker men to its 13th-straight region title with a 43-91 victory over runner-up Malone. The GVSU top five placed in the region race's top 12. The team also won the GLIAC crown with 33 points to Malone's 67. On the women's side, the Lakers won the region for the 14th-consecutive season with a 42-76 victory over runner-up Hillsdale as the squad had a 3-4-6-10-19 showing. GVSU swept the top four spots in the finish order at the GLIAC Championships for the league title, 21-61.

A total of 397 student-athletes (199 men and 198 women) earned the distinction by finishing among the top 25 individual finishers at one of the eight regional sites across the country.

Five teams put their entire varsity in the top 25. They would be the Adams State womenand the men of American International, Augustana (S.D.), Grand Valley State, and Lock Haven.

Adams State, Augustana, and Grand Valley State led the way with 12 combined honorees.  Stonehill had 11, and Roberts Wesleyan, Edinboro, and Chico State had 10.

Most regions were dominated by a single conferences. Remember, each region has 50 runners receive All-Region.  31 of the Central's came from the Northern Sun, 34 of the East's came from the Northeast-10, 39 of the Midwest's came from the GLIAC, and 40 of the South Central's came from the RMAC.  But none of those conferences top the PSAC, which provided the Atlantic Region with all 50 of its honorees.

The NCAA Division II Cross Country Championships will be held December 6 in Louisville, Kentucky, at E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park as part of the 2014 NCAA Division II National Championships Festival. A live stream will be available on NCAA.com.


Men's All-Region Year Institution
Nick Hall JR Ashland
Brian Baum SR Ashland
Isaac Potes SR Ashland
Andrew Harper SR Ferris State
Alan Peterson SR Grand Valley State
Chris May SO Grand Valley State
Chad Cini JR Grand Valley State
Brady Selner SO Grand Valley State
Bryce Bradley SO Grand Valley State
Kyle Flores JR Grand Valley State
Nate Orndorf SO Grand Valley State
Joshua Mirth SR Hillsdale
Luke Hickman SR Hillsdale
John Butler SR Hillsdale
Ryan Roush JR Malone
Andrew Trusty SR Malone
Jordan McKelley SR Malone
Sean Pengelly SO Michigan Tech
Joey Southgate SO Saginaw Valley State
Eddie Komph JR Wayne State (Mich.)
Women's All-Region Year Institution
Jessica Janecke JR Grand Valley State
Allyson Winchester SR Grand Valley State
Hannah Osborn SR Grand Valley State
Jordan Chester JR Grand Valley State
Amy Creutz SO Grand Valley State
Emily Oren JR Hillsdale
Kristina Galat JR Hillsdale
Hannah McIntyre FR Hillsdale
Molly Oren SO Hillsdale
Hannah Campbell FR Malone
Sarah Meek JR Malone
Kameron Burmeister FR Northern Michigan
Megan Edic JR Northern Michigan
Emily Short SR Saginaw Valley State
Taylor Stepanski JR Saginaw Valley State
Lauren Gagnon SR Wayne State (Mich.)
Chelsea Johnson JR Wayne State (Mich.)
Brittany Johnson JR Wayne State (Mich.)
Kayla Balfour JR Wayne State (Mich.)