GLIAC Captures 11 ABCA All-Region Selections; Hunter Brown Named Pitcher of the Year

GLIAC Captures 11 ABCA All-Region Selections; Hunter Brown Named Pitcher of the Year

2019 ABCA All-Region Baseball Release

ABCA – The 2019 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. II All-Region teams and Regional Players of the Year have been announced in all eight regions. The teams are voted on by members of the American Baseball Coaches Association and the process is led by the ABCA NCAA Div. II All-America Committee.

The GLIAC landed 11 All-Region honorees, including five First-Team selections, including Wayne State's Hunter Brown being named Player of the Year.

2017 Midwest-ABCA/Rawlings All-Region Teams
NCAA Div. II Midwest All-Region First Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
3B Jacob Buchberger Jr. Davenport MI
OF Travis Harvey Jr. Davenport MI
DH Michael MacLean So. Wayne State MI
P Hunter Brown Jr. Wayne State  MI
RP Chris Slabik Sr. Ashland OH
NCAA Div. II Midwest All-Region Second Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
1B David Vinsky Jr.  Northwood MI
2B Nolan Bryant Jr. Davenport MI
3B Jacob Finkbeiner So. Wayne State  MI
P Evan Marquardt Sr. Davenport MI
P Devin Peters Sr. Ashland OH
RP Lennon Gwizdala Sr. Northwood MI
Midwest Position Player of the Year: Justin Childers, Jr., 1B, Ohio Dominican
Midwest Pitcher of the Year: Hunter Brown, Jr., Wayne State 


ABCA/Rawlings All-Region first-team selections are nominated for ABCA/Rawlings All-America honors. The ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. II All-Americans will be announced the evening of Friday, May 31 following the Opening Ceremonies at the NCAA Div. II World Series. The ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams for all divisions will be announced Wednesday, June 19.

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now includes nine divisions: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and high school. ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were first recognized in 2007.

The Chair of the ABCA NCAA Div. II All-America & Coach of the Year Committee is Rudy Garbalosa of Lynn University. Also on the committee are Randy Betten (Cal Poly Pomona), Jamie Detillion (Grand Valley State University), Jim Gantt (Catawba College), Rick Giannetti (Dominican College), Matt Jones (Shippensburg University), Rob Penders (St. Edward's University) and Kyle Poock (Winona State University).

 The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 11,000 members represent all 50 states and 25 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 76th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 2-5, 2020 in Nashville, Tennessee.


About Rawlings
Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. is an innovative manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods worldwide. Founded in 1887, Rawlings is an authentic global sports brand, trusted by generations of athletes of all skill levels. Rawlings’ unparalleled quality and expert craftsmanship are the fundamental reasons why more professional athletes, national governing bodies and sports leagues choose Rawlings. Rawlings is the Official Ball Supplier and Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®, the official baseball of Minor League Baseball™ and the NCAA®, and an approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®. For more information, please visit or by phone at (314) 819-2800.