MTU's Monroe, GVSU's Van Tubbergen Named Men's Basketball Players of the Week

MTU's Monroe, GVSU's Van Tubbergen Named Men's Basketball Players of the Week

GLIAC -- The Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) has announced its first player of the week awards for the 2019-20 men's basketball season. Michigan Tech senior Forward Kyle Monroe earned GLIAC Men's Basketball North Division Player of the Week honors, while Grand Valley State junior forward Jake Van Tubbergen was named GLIAC South Division Player of the Week.

NORTH PLAYER OF THE WEEK: Kyle Monroe - Michigan Tech

Kyle Monroe had a huge week for the Huskies in a pair of wins at the GLIAC/GLVC Crossover Tournament this past weekend. Monroe, a senior from Green Bay, Wisconsin, averaged 26 points per game with a weekend high of 29 points in the season opening 78-73 victory at McKendree. Monroe also picked up his first double-double of the season thanks to 10 rebounds in Sunday's 63-54 triumph over Lewis. Monroe also combined for  19 rebounds, five assists, and four steals while firing in 16 of 19 chances at the free throw line. 

SOUTH PLAYER OF THE WEEK: Jake Van Tubbergen - Grand Valley State

Grand Valley State junior Jake Van Tubbergen has been named GLIAC South Player of the Week for the opening week of the 2019-20 college basketball season. Van Tubbergen, a preseason All-GLIAC selection, earns his first career conference weekly honors. Van Tubbergen was outstanding in the Lakers 2-0 opening week as the Lakers defeated regional foes Alderson Broaddus and Davis & Elkins. He opened the season with a double-double, scoring 21 points – 16 in the first half – and snagged a career-best 16 rebounds as the Lakers defeated the Battlers, 69-56, before dropping 20 points and seven boards on Sunday in the Lakers’ 84-68 win over Davis & Elkins. Overall, Van Tubbergen scored 41 points with 23 rebounds while also dishing five assists, getting two steals and a block, and shot .571 from the field. He also went 8-12 from the free throw line. 

NORTH: Alec Fruin (NMU), Walt Kesler (FSU), 

SOUTH: Bruno Solumun (NU), Myles Belyeu (SVSU), Drew Noble (AU), Chris Rollins (DU)