Wayne State Announces 2016 Hall of Fame Class

Wayne State Announces 2016 Hall of Fame Class

Courtesy of Jeff Weiss, Wayne State Associate Athletics Director for Media Relations

DETROIT -- Six former Wayne State student-athletes have been selected for induction into the Wayne State University Athletic Hall of Fame.

The class of 2016 includes football running back Joique Bell, baseball outfielder Ryan LaPensee, fencer Slava Zingerman along with swimmers Cauli BedranElaina Hogle and Ashley St. Andrew.

"This class reads like a 'whose who' of WSU athletics in the mid 2000 decade of prominence," stated WSU Director of Athletics Rob Fournier.  "You could say, the accomplishments stretch from A ("St." Andrew) to Z (Zingerman). And just to make sure it was heard, we added a Bell (Joique). These six represent dominating national success -- as individuals and in team performance."

The WSU Athletic Hall of Fame membership will increase to 231 with the inductions this February.

The official induction ceremony will take place on Saturday, Feb. 20 at Historic St. Andrews on the WSU campus. The reception begins at 11:30 a.m. with lunch served at noon and the program starting shortly thereafter.

Tickets for the luncheon can be purchased at the Matthaei Complex for $35 and advance reservations are required. The public is invited to attend.

In addition, the class will be introduced during the Feb. 20 basketball games vs. Walsh.

To order tickets online for the luncheon, please go to our eventbrite page.